Monday, January 9, 2012

Boxing Fouls & Rules

Boxing first became popular in England around the first part of the 18th century with James Figg being declared the first British heavyweight king in 1719, according to the "Pictorial History of Boxing" by Sam Andre and Nat Fleischer. Boxing rules have changed since the early bare-knuckle fights. The rules for championship bouts are similar between the sanctioning bodies around the world.
12 Rounds Rule
Championship bouts are fought for a title and belt from one of the four main sanctioning bodies: the International Boxing Federation, the World Boxing Organization, the World Boxing Union and the World Boxing Council. Each championship bout lasts for 12 three-minute rounds with a minute break between rounds for men and 10 two-minute rounds for women, according to the IBF. It is called the 12 rounds rule because boxing started with male boxers and is still dominated by men in the sport.
When a boxer is knocked down or out, the referee sends the opponent to the farthest neutral corner. A count is then started on the fallen boxer. The referee counts out loud using his arm to indicate each second of the count. If the fighter is up on his feet by the count of 8, the referee evaluates the boxer to determine whether he is fit to continue. If the fighter is fit, then the match continues. If the boxer is still down on the count of 10, the fight is over and the opponent wins the match. The referee waves his arms indicating that the fight is over. A fighter cannot be saved by the bell. If the boxer is still down when the three-minute round is over, the bell ringer does not ring the bell and the count continues. If the fighter gets up, then the bell is rung, if not, the fight is over, according to the World Boxing Organization.
Accidental Fouls
Accidental fouls include head butts, low blows and other accidental injuries to a boxer. If the injury occurs before four rounds have been fought and either one of the boxers cannot continue the fight because of the injury, no decision will be awarded. If a head butt or other accidental foul happens after the fourth round and the fighter cannot continue the fight, they go to scorecards for a ruling. The scorecards from all three judges are tallied and a winner by technical decision is awarded the win.
10 Point Must System
The 10-point must system is a scoring system where the winner of each round gets a score of 10 points. The opponent gets a lower score depending whether he is knocked down during the round. If the opponent just loses the round, he will receive nine points. If he is knocked down during the round and loses the round, he is scored eight points. Any point deduction for the rounds is similarly taken off his score. If the round is even, which rarely happens, then each boxer is scored 10 points, according to the IBF championship rules.

Design by Free Wordpress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Templates